PDA

View Full Version : co-op, is it worth it?

metalman
01-15-2007, 11:43 PM
Okay so I am an accounting student at university and I am wondering as to whether you guys who have experienced co-op think it is a worthwhile endeavour. I'd think that for scoring a position with a Big 4 firm, they would love to hire previous interns, but really how competitive is it without interning?

Also, assuming that I do want to join the co-op program, you need 12 months of work experience to get it placed on your degree. The work terms are either 4 or 8 months usually. Now seeing that the Big 4 firms (or other) hire only 3rd yr students and that they have 8 month work terms, logically as a second yr student I should take another 4 month term this summer. Does this sound like its worth shelling out money to the uni to obtain a job? Do you think that this would better my chances for a Big 4 internship next yr?

Finally if I were to join I'd want to make the most money possible, and gain some valuable experience. 'd also be willing to work a ton of hrs. Shell/Albian Oilsands has postings for jobs up North that could satisfy both requirements:

Financial Operations (Oil Sands) Invoice Attestation (2 positions)-this assignment, in our Expansion Operations Accounting department will involve but not be limited to, understanding the contracts in place for Shell and its major contracts, validating terms and conditions against current contracts and purchase orders, validating receipts provided for completeness and compliance, as well as be involved in general analytical, project work and vacation coverage. These assignments are for 4 months

What do you think the pay/hrs of the position should be? How mindnumbing could this really be?

Okay so there is a bunch of questions. Feel free to just quote any of them to reply. Thanks

AsianCaucasian
01-15-2007, 11:50 PM