PDA

View Full Version : Need advice on how to leave a job

The Cosworth
02-01-2007, 06:06 PM
Hey Guys, I am a bit of a interesting situation and I need some advice on what to do next. The names of the companies wont be told to help keep me anonymous. (like my login name will help that) :rolleyes:

I am working part time for an engineering firm downtown. I had an interview with a large government corporation that was set up (the interview) before I had gone to the interview with the company I am working for part time.

The government corporation made me a decent offer, but I told them that staying in Calgary would be better for me all around.

The company I am with part time, liked how I am working and wanted to keep me on full time after I graduate. They gave me a contract but I didnt sign anything as I told them I wanted to explore what I wanted to do for sure. I told them I think I would be staying when I graduated though.

The large crown corp. called me back (a few days after the part time company made me the offer to stay) and re-negotiated the contract so that I was happy and would work for them.

It is 50,000 to start, 32 days paid vacation, 7.5 hour work days, and they pay for my move. I said yes, of course, as this is a good job financially and the experience I will get with a Power system (like SaskPower, BC Hydro, Ontario hydro) will be great.

Now the problem is I want to keep working for this firm part time until I am done school. They know that the crown corp came back with an offer and they know it is good because I stopped talking to them about it.

Now they are making my life hard, limiting the work I work on, yada yada. I want to stay on (so I can pay bills), and don't want to tell them for a while that I am leaving. I like it there but I think that they are going to be pissed.