PDA

View Full Version : Drum Kit Recomendations

bobyo_2001
02-27-2007, 12:58 AM
Hey all, I am a drummer that has been only playing three years and have gone through 7 kits i need to find a really good kit, money is not any issue i am pretty much up for anything right now i am playing on a 5 pc, pearl exr kit with gibralter rack and several accesories, i need to upsize but at the same time i need to down size like one less tom and more cymbals. Any Suggestions...???

:confused:

core_upt
02-27-2007, 01:37 PM
Originally posted by bobyo_2001
Hey all, I am a drummer that has been only playing three years and have gone through 7 kits i need to find a really good kit, money is not any issue i am pretty much up for anything right now i am playing on a 5 pc, pearl exr kit with gibralter rack and several accesories, i need to upsize but at the same time i need to down size like one less tom and more cymbals. Any Suggestions...???

:confused:

AYOTTE - i had them build me a custom kit a few years ago. I was in search of a professional kit so I looked at Pearl Masters Customs, DW Pre series and Orange County Drum and Percussion. Pearl didn't build custom kits, DW took between 6 and 12 monthd and OCDP was hella expensive. I talked to Ayotte via Axe music (go see jeff towers) and sepc'd my new kit - all custom built for me. two rack toms 10" diameter, 1 is 8" deep the other 10" deep, 14x14 floor tom stand mounted (no legs) and a 18"x20" bass drum (18" diameter, 20" deep - its a cannon!). The kit is finished in a blue onyx finish - blue in the light, black in the dark with steel hoops (woods hoops are nice too). It took about 6 weeks to build, all out of 100% Canadian Maple. the toms are 6 ply with reinforcement rings, the bass drum is 8 ply.

For my snare, I bought a prebuilt kepplinger steel snare from Ayotte - 7mm steel. The thing weighs a ton and sounds like a gunshot.