PDA

View Full Version : Engineering Co-Op Workterm Sept - Dec 2007

krisopotamus
03-19-2007, 10:04 AM
Hey guys/girls, was just wondering if any of you know good companies located in Calgary that hire co-op students for 4 month workterms starting in September? I am not talking about the big names (CNRL, Husky, Shell, Petro-Canada, Encana, etc.). I am looking for smaller companies (ie. ones that do not list jobs through the U of R co-op office).

I am in Industrial Systems Engineering at the U of R (done 5 semesters of academic, willl be 6 when I go on my next workterm). I have been working in oil and gas but am not set on staying there, my degree is basically the same as mechanical (just a spin off of it), so I can do lots of different things with it.

I will have 2 workterms under my belt with CNRL. Last summer I was a relief plant operator and right now I am an exploitation engineer. I am sort of thinking that I want experience with other companies too so that I am not limited to CNRL when I am done school.

I have 2 solid references from 2 jobs, and will have 3 after this workterm unless I really screw something up in the near future lol.

So if anyone has heard of good companies to work for, throw the name down here and I will look into them. Yes I know I could google but figured the local people on here would be better help.

Thanks!

~Leah~
03-19-2007, 05:39 PM
Is there a reason why you don't want the big names?

DUBBED
03-19-2007, 07:38 PM
Originally posted by ~Leah~
Is there a reason why you don't want the big names?

Big names will tend to give you less personal attention. You would learn more about the "big picture" in a smaller firm where they take the time to tell you about what you're involved in, versus handing you simple tasks.

I have no suggestions though. Sorry.

Crymson
03-20-2007, 01:16 PM