PDA

View Full Version : VW Golf opinions / comments / experiences

Chris101
06-08-2007, 11:33 AM
Hey all,

I have finally graduated, started working fulltime, cleared off the student debts, blah blah blah, and now I'm in the market for a new used vehicle. My number 1 choice right now is a 2002-2004 VW Golf.

Now I have some questions:

If I were to go with the GTI, would I be better off getting the turbo or the VR6? I have heard from a friend that the turbo'd GTI has some reliability issues.

Is there any reason I should contemplate the non GTI route and just buy a 1.8 non turbo'd Golf? Obviously money IS an issue and a base Golf has an appealing price, but at the same time I want to buy a vehicle that I am going to enjoy, and I am willing to spend more for that.

As a long-time Honda owner I have very little experience with Golfs or VWs. Are there any big issues/potential deal-breakers that I should be aware of?

Thanks

Euro_Trash
06-08-2007, 11:35 AM
There is no such thing as a MK4 1.8L base golf, the lowest is the 2.0L which is a very reliable motor, but you will probably get bored with it pretty quick.
The 1.8T is your best bet if you want to mod the car.
Personally I would go with the VR6, I have an older VR in my Jetta but my dad has the 24V VR in his jetta, and he loves it. Very quiet, very smooth, and if you want to spend some extra cash it has high potential for some big HP numbers. He has had it for more than 40,000 km and has not had any problems at all.

omfgcurtis
06-08-2007, 01:49 PM
mk4 route is a little pricey, if you were to go the mk3 route there is alot more options IMO, my mk4 golf isnt as fun as my mk3 gti and the gti has alot more performance and visual styling routes you can go.
There isnt much VW owners on this website to give you there input, id suggest checking out http://vwvortex.com/ a vw enthusiasm website and this calgary based website http://www.clubveedub.com/

enjoy your dub:thumbsup:

teggypimp95
06-08-2007, 01:53 PM