PDA

View Full Version : P.Eng + CFA, worth pursing?

Super_Geo
06-18-2007, 09:09 AM
Was hoping that there were some CFAs on here who could help shed some light on a career shift I'm considering.

I graduated last May and began working in July as a project engineer. I took a pretty technical degree (engineering physics, mechanical option) and decided early on that I never wanted a technical engineering job where I was crunching equations all day... so when I saw job postings for project engineering I jumped at the oppertunity. A year in, I still think it was the right decision. What I'm doing right now is a healthy mix between the project management side (procurement, scheduling, cost control, logistics, construction, etc) and design work.

Lately, however, I've realized that I don't want to be an engineer 10 (hell, maybe even 5) years down the road. I've been drawn more and more towards finance. I was considering jumping to investment banking around Christmas when an oppertunity-of-sorts came up along that alley, but didn't pull the trigger.

A friend of mine who I graduated with last year (he took mechanical engineering) is thinking of getting a CFA, and the more I've thought about it the more I think that it is closer to what I want to be doing. So if I write the Level I in December (which means I'd have to start studying pretty soon), and assuming that I pass all of the tests on the first try, that means I should be all clear to getting work experience towards the CFA at the same time as I complete the requirements for my P.Eng and PMP (project management professional) designations.