PDA

View Full Version : Maxima Needs Help

dsmerrill
06-18-2003, 12:28 AM
Hey, I have recently Purchased a 2001 Maxima, Im looking into making it street worthy. I pretty much know nothing about cars. What would be the best place to start, how would i go about doing it? Is NOS really worth it? and how bad is it for your engine? Any help would be apreciated. thanks.

04blackMAX
06-18-2003, 12:30 AM
dont get NOS, how about some rims, and springs to start

Hash_man
06-18-2003, 01:14 AM
Well if you want performance, then dont bother with rims to start, the stock springs may be ok as well... I would start with the usual Cold air intake, Headers, and exaust to help your engine breath better. I am not sure though if they are available for your car. Then maybe a performance chip or something.

If you do want nitrous Oxide (not NOS) then I would recomend going with a computer controled setup like ZEX, or Venom. These systems are less risky than others. I have no experience with Nitrous and would recomend a Turbo or supercharger above it, but if it is what u want then go for it.

Dr. Lightspeed
06-18-2003, 01:38 AM
Oh here we go again with the computer controled crap. You can not control af ratio with a venom kit with a normal o2 sensor. ZEX NITROUS MANAGEMENT SOLUTION is simply a diaphragm applying pressure to your fuel pressure regulator. The only thing nice about Zex is if you are out of bottle it will not dump more fuel in your engine not a big deal just bogs for a second. Buy nothing but a wet kit or you will be soory one day when you have a lazy injector. Nitrous Express guarantees all there horsepower ratings within 2% no other manufacture can guarantee that. Yes it is more money but heh you get what you pay for. Awet kit guarantees proper air fuel mixture from your nitrous system. One of the biggest power adders is to put a new downpipe on your maxima they are really corky.

b16Ateg
06-19-2003, 08:11 PM