PDA

View Full Version : New to RSP Mutual funds

KappaSigma
08-07-2007, 09:57 AM
I am looking at slowly investing in some mutual funds. Now I have no prior experience. Who should I deal with? And what sort of porfolio should I be looking at? What to include and what not to include (such as international, etc).

Any advice?

Rav4Guy
08-07-2007, 10:15 AM
Since it's in your RSP, it will depend on if your opening an account at a bank or at a brokerage firm. The reason is that an account at a branch will allow you to participate in MFs + fixed income only where as at a brokerage firm, you'll have access to everything (provided it is RSP eligible).

Having said that, I'm assuming your time horizon will be long. How's about risk... 50% moderate or 100% spec? Any sectors your sepcifically interested in or have first hand knowledge of? How much capital? (that's a big one)

All the things that will definitely affect your choices.

KappaSigma
08-07-2007, 10:24 AM
Originally posted by Rav4Guy
Since it's in your RSP, it will depend on if your opening an account at a bank or at a brokerage firm. The reason is that an account at a branch will allow you to participate in MFs + fixed income only where as at a brokerage firm, you'll have access to everything (provided it is RSP eligible).

Having said that, I'm assuming your time horizon will be long. How's about risk... 50% moderate or 100% spec? Any sectors your sepcifically interested in or have first hand knowledge of? How much capital? (that's a big one)

All the things that will definitely affect your choices.

Time horizon = very long term.
Risk = moderate to aggressive

I do not have any knowledge of any sector, so unsure. I am looking at setting up an account where every 2 weeks I contribute to it. Looking at starting small at $100 every 2 weeks.

Thoughts? A place like ING?

max_boost
08-07-2007, 11:17 AM
Go talk to a financial adviser at your branch.

Rav4Guy
08-07-2007, 11:29 AM
Originally posted by KappaSigma