PDA

View Full Version : Winter jacket?

Trini
08-30-2007, 01:28 PM
I'm pretty new to Calgary and winter weather conditions so forgive me if I sound clueless.:dunno:
I'm looking for a new winter jacket/coat..what should I look for, should I buy online or in a store and what prices should I expect.

ashee
08-30-2007, 01:33 PM
Helly Hansen $300+

eina15
08-30-2007, 01:40 PM
I don't know where you've moved from, so I am not sure what you are used to or what your definition of 'cold' is....but I've lived here all my life and I still think the winters are freaking cold.

Temps can dip down to -40 with windchill, or up to +10 if we get a Chinook (or, both within the same day!). I'd say avg. temps range around -10? You'd be best off to have maybe 2 or 3 different coats, ranging from light to heavy-duty. And gloves. And a hat.

Can't really help you with where to buy.,....but hope that helps ;)

Oh, and welcome to Calgary :)

nagooro
08-30-2007, 01:48 PM
Id recommend those down/feather filled ones. They can get quite expensive, so I would try a few different stores.
Northface (I think thats the brand) makes some pretty good ones.

Trini
08-30-2007, 01:48 PM
^thanks man..I spent last winter here, got a winter jacket but the filling or whatever it is inside is coming out so time to buy a new one..I've felt the -40 and words cant describe it..

will have a look at the helly hansen products.

snowboard
08-30-2007, 01:51 PM
Foursquare or Special Blend :)

teggypimp95
08-30-2007, 01:56 PM
Mountain equipment on 10th ave down town has some good out door sporting gear. You could get a very good warm jacket there. There stuff is made well also.

aram1000
08-30-2007, 02:01 PM
North Face jackets are good, I've had one for 2 seasons now and its great, its a 3 in 1, which is nice because you can use the fleece lining as a fall jacket too

sputnik
08-30-2007, 02:02 PM
Don't buy a North Face. They are incredibly over rated and fall apart.