PDA

View Full Version : Routes for a Mech. Eng

seadog
09-01-2007, 10:05 AM
So I graduated a yearish ago (took time off for a bunch of trips) from Dal, Mech Eng, GPA of 4ish, and want a job that offers fly in/out roation so the chance for travel, and good money. No commitments like family, but I wouldnt mind spending a third of my time back home, plus like 2 consecutive weeks off would offer the chance for better trips than the same amount of time off on weekends... Naturally my mind jumps to oil and gas. I've tossed off a few resumes, have one interview in the works(SLB - these companies sure like to take thier time), but just wondering what my best route is to get the above?

Do Mech Engs have any routes of entry other than MWD/LWD? Do they ever enter via leasehand route? What the logical next step after? DD? I've heard SLB don't really respect the roation and you just end up in northern AB working 28 hours a day.

Whats Halliburton's recuriting scheme like? Fired off a resume to TX, they liked me, called me up, but they wanted nothing to do with me once they once they found out I didn't have US citizenship. They redirected it to AB which didn't really have any new grad general recruiting ads. I asked them about it and they just said apply to entry level in their general job postings as they came up of which theres maybe 2-3 at any one time. Surly they hire more than 10 new grads a year and have some sort of formal new grad program? They were pretty sketchy with the details.

Other than that is the smaller companies. How do they compare in all facets? Some ppl wrote in similar threads better money but how is that? You'd think smaller less known companies would have to charge less, so a smaller slice of the pie for you.

Thanks for any advice...

BlackArcher101
09-01-2007, 01:09 PM
Are you going to want experience that applies to your Mech. Eng or do you want the cash and travel?

seadog
09-01-2007, 01:33 PM