PDA

View Full Version : buying phone on ebay for telus

wardpr68
09-07-2007, 11:23 AM
hey all. So i am a noob with cell phones really. BUT!

My friend got a nice blackberry on ebay for a good price and i was thinking... i need a better phone, not really a blackberry, but something.

His was easy since they have sim cards on rogers... but since i am on telus am i able to buy a phone on ebay? Or am i screwed since we dont use sim cards?

Fill in a noob :D

thanks!

94CoRd
09-07-2007, 12:04 PM
on ebay with phones, the left hand menu will let you select what kind of technology the phone uses to narrow down the items for sale.

Telus uses CDMA I believe.. so search for phones with that technology.

Hope that helps. :thumbsup:

zoik
09-07-2007, 12:32 PM
yeah telus as well as bell uses CDMA technology. it makes it brutal to change phones. even harder to find an unlocked CDMA phone. once you get this phone you'll have to take it to telus or call them, and they have to do the conection bit, and i think they charge for it too. it's a pain in the ass, and that's why places like omegacell don't carry CDMA phones.

on a side note, if you want to change cell phone providers you can keep your number now!

jdmXSI
09-07-2007, 12:35 PM
You have to be carefull with the CDMA phones. A friend of mine bought one for "Bell provider" and the phone was reported stolen and his phone was then cut off. But he still had to give the phone in and contiue paying for his contract. Just be cautious.

zoik
09-07-2007, 12:38 PM
Originally posted by jdmXSI
You have to be carefull with the CDMA phones. A friend of mine bought one for "Bell provider" and the phone was reported stolen and his phone was then cut off. But he still had to give the phone in and contiue paying for his contract. Just be cautious.