PDA

View Full Version : Career Advice: Grad school?

Manhattan
09-23-2007, 02:40 AM
So I graduated with an undergrad degree in economics a lil over a year now. Been entry level at a big corp downtown bustin my ass for not a whole lot of $. I am now considering either law school or biz school because of this.

I think biz school typically requires at least 3 years of work experience...and law school u can get into right after u graduate. I think I'm going to get an advanced degree sooner or later, so would now be a good time? Anyone have any experience or advice they can lend? Difficulty of law/biz school compared to undergrad, time and money, and just overall experience of it.

Appreciate it!

davidI
09-23-2007, 08:30 AM
When you say 'biz school' are you talking MBA or a BComm?

I personally think an MBA is a lot more practical for people who have been working for 5-10 years but I also know people who went straight into grad school after their undergrad. I also haven't seen much difference in the starting positions / salaries for people who have their MBA from people who have only a BComm.

If you're going for a law degree, you better know what you're going to do with it. Practicing law isn't all that fun and although certain lawyers do make a lot of coin, the majority work stupid long hours for a decent salary that can be had without that extra 3 years of schooling. I briefly worked for a personal injury firm and currently work as a contracts analyst within a legal department for an oil company, and I must say neither jobs are all that enjoyable. I'm only doing what I'm doing for the overseas experience, travel opportunities and coin. There is no way in hell I'm going to spend my life reading clauses and pushing paper.