PDA

View Full Version : accounting interviews

p177772005
09-26-2007, 03:26 PM
Hi, I am in a very difficult situation. I went through the recruiting process for an entry level position in accounting. I went to all the firm tours, attended the cocktails, resume seminars by the accounting firms, etc. This Monday, I applied to about 20 firms with a personalized resume for every firm and I did not get even one interview.

What is wrong? I have three years of customer service experience, have lived in four different countries and speak six languages including English and French. I had my resume proofread by career center advisers.

Is there anything wrong? Really appreciate you reading my post and replying.

BrknFngrs
09-26-2007, 03:28 PM
are you sure that the application deadlines have passed? I don't think a lot of places will contact people until they are closed and everything has been reviewed

Jason Lange
09-26-2007, 03:28 PM
were you drunk?

topmade
09-26-2007, 03:31 PM
I think giving them more then 2 day's would be a good start.

p177772005
09-26-2007, 03:50 PM
Today is the first day for interviews. Many people I know have already received calls. I am not assuming that I will not be selected for an interview (I so would like to proved wrong). All the firms told us that they will make calls on Monday and Tuesday only and will start the interviews from Wednesday.

And no, I was not drunk.

topmade
09-26-2007, 04:21 PM
There are still too many variables as to why you haven't received any calls yet. Eventhough they are entry level positions perhaps others have some experience and/or education? But who really knows maybe their resumes are just nicer looking? All I can say is that you seem to be doing the right things, so keep trying, don't be upset and just keep moving forward, you'll get something soon enough.

mekeni
09-26-2007, 05:45 PM
a lot can be a factor:

maybe you were asking too much?
wrong phone number listed?
no voicemail?

ramminghard
09-26-2007, 07:10 PM