PDA

View Full Version : Smoothing out upshifts?

lianli
09-27-2007, 05:01 PM
What's the best way to smooth out the upshift? I know you can rev-match rpms when downshifting for smooth downshifts but is there a way to smooth the upshift? The way I see it, upshifts are jerky because you have to let go of the gas before you clutch in, therefore upsetting the accerlation. I've noticed that letting the rpms drop before clutching out gets you a more fluid shift but imo that takes too long!

EK 2.0
09-27-2007, 05:02 PM
Buy an Auto, SMG, DSG??

SOAB
09-27-2007, 05:05 PM
if you can't upshift smoothly, maybe you should take some lessons...

lianli
09-27-2007, 05:08 PM
Sorry for my asinine comment... I didn't know you could take lessons!

And being a student, I dont have the cash to get an SMG or DSG. I would rather drive a standard than an auto too...

LongCity
09-27-2007, 05:15 PM
What happened to the good old help/advice?!

benyl
09-27-2007, 05:17 PM
Is that because it allows you more control? That you feel one with the car?

Answer to your question: Practice.

lianli
09-27-2007, 05:25 PM
Originally posted by benyl
Answer to your question: Practice.

yup that's the plan. but no tips?

l/l/rX
09-27-2007, 05:28 PM
um...dont let the clutch out so fast? let it out smoothly and slowly...

403Gemini
09-27-2007, 05:31 PM
Really just practice, its different for every car and every clutch

Trate
09-27-2007, 05:34 PM
Could try Standardshift for driving tips. They have topics like that covered in depth already.

http://www.standardshift.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=8248&highlight=upshift+smoothly&sid=cbe18f7813674fa4539747913deae187

SOAB
09-27-2007, 05:36 PM
here's my tips.

be smooth on the throttle and clutch.
no jerky motions.
they are not on/off switches.

403Gemini
09-27-2007, 05:41 PM
Originally posted by SOAB
here's my tips.

be smooth on the throttle and clutch.
no jerky motions.
they are not on/off switches.

Good advice