PDA

View Full Version : Auto Body apprentice Helpp!

*prettyboy*
10-04-2007, 06:43 PM
Im currently an auto tech apprentice and im looking into
autobody.
Do any of you know the difference between prepper,refinisher and Repairer,
and any shops in N.e/N.w that might take 1st years ? I live up in the Coventry hills area (far north)

I need help.. !

HHURICANE1
10-05-2007, 08:54 PM
Virtually every shop in the city is looking for people right now. Just ask around at any shop and you I am sure you will get the answers you need. There is a HUGE demand for techs right now. The wash bay guy where I work is doing some body work with almost zero experience.

92probe
10-06-2007, 01:02 AM
Preppers do all the masking and basically prep work for a car to be primmed and painted, they do some primming depending on the shop, and sanding primer before it goes to paint, a refinisher is the guy who lays on the base and clear, aka the painter and repairers are the guys who pull dents, replace panels, all that fun stuff that the others dont do, i did the autobody thing, wasnt for me, i think i just got stuck in a shitty shop with a shady owner that would do anything to make a buck, but i have alot of friends from school who still do it, its long days and if the shops not running up to code it'll do a number on your lungs and health, so look for a good shop, and you will be ok

TomcoPDR
10-06-2007, 02:33 AM
Originally posted by 92probe