PDA

View Full Version : U of C - Final GPA?

Disoblige
10-07-2007, 01:36 PM
I'm a first year engineering student at U of C, and I was wondering how the final GPA is calculated after you're done the 4 years of study? I heard of something like they only use your year 2 to year 4 classes, or the last 20 classes you take. Can anyone confirm this at all?

ashee
10-07-2007, 01:55 PM
I've never heard that, I was told it is cumulative thus everything counts.

Gainsbarre
10-07-2007, 02:23 PM
If you're looking at GPA for graduate school or to see if you've earne "with distinction" (or something similar on your graduation parchment) then you only need to look at the last 20 courses or so. Otherwise your "final GPA" includes all courses taken...

urbannomad
10-07-2007, 03:09 PM
Originally posted by Gainsbarre
If you're looking at GPA for graduate school or to see if you've earne "with distinction" (or something similar on your graduation parchment) then you only need to look at the last 20 courses or so. Otherwise your "final GPA" includes all courses taken...

:werd:

Paulhammer
10-09-2007, 09:39 PM
As said above, GPA includes all the classes you take while at U of C... unless of course you repeat a class to get a better mark, in which case the lower mark is slashed from your GPA.

Also, i'm pretty sure that if you take more than 40 classes, the earliest grades get dropped off in favour of newer ones...

msommers
10-09-2007, 09:55 PM
One gay thing that U of C does in on your transcript. You get one, send it to the people offering scholarships, only have to sent back because it doesn't have a cumulative/total GPA of all your coarses:banghead:

Janice
10-10-2007, 01:10 PM
For grad studies they only look at the last 2 years =last 20 courses you have taken and calculate your GPA based on those. This means don't leave the hard courses to the end!