PDA

View Full Version : Honking at intersections

Aliquout
10-23-2007, 01:16 AM
I'm a new driver and I have notticed emergency vehicles make a special noise when going through interesections so that it's safer for them. I'm thinking this is a good way to avoid a side crash. I don't have a lot of experience so I'd like to know from a safety perspective if giving three long honks before cruising through an intersection will help me avoid an accident.

BlackArcher101
10-23-2007, 01:20 AM
No, it will probably cause one when people starting looking to see who the hell is honking and don't see an emergency vehicle.

GTS Jeff
10-23-2007, 01:29 AM
I think it's a great idea. For added visibility, you should also flick your hazards on when going through any intersection, flash your high beams, and turn on your windshield wipers to max.

Yelling out the window is also a good idea. 'YARRRRR, I'M DRIVING THROUGH AN INTARSEXION!"

GTS Jeff
10-23-2007, 01:29 AM
But seriously, stfu.

Ihatetowait
10-23-2007, 01:30 AM
Hahahahhahahahahhahaha. GTS jeff, jesus.

turbotrip
10-23-2007, 01:31 AM
it depends where u are, in some asian countries it might not be a bad idea

Jlude
10-23-2007, 01:43 AM
Originally posted by GTS Jeff
I think it's a great idea. For added visibility, you should also flick your hazards on when going through any intersection, flash your high beams, and turn on your windshield wipers to max.

Yelling out the window is also a good idea. 'YARRRRR, I'M DRIVING THROUGH AN INTARSEXION!"

But seriously, stfu.

NO MERCY!

:thumbsup:

music_man_119
10-23-2007, 04:55 AM
Sure, it's a great idea....

If you're a sadistic suicidal.

Pahnda
10-23-2007, 05:08 AM
Originally posted by Aliquout
I don't have a lot of experience so I'd like to know from a safety perspective if giving three long honks before cruising through an intersection will help me avoid an accident.

You're asking for safety advice on how to cruise through an intersection in which you don't have the right of way?