PDA

View Full Version : "Casual" Job Interview

seadog
11-05-2007, 04:01 PM
So I'm an engineering grad interviewing with an oil and gas company coming in from out west for the day. The first email I got ended with "Please note, dress code is casual!". We fired a few emails back and forth to schedule a time on a first name basis. Final email comes with the room its happening in, and then another note at the end "Remember, Casual!"

How would you dress for this? He didn't say business casual, and metioned casual twice, both times with the exclamation mark, and the whole email excahnge seemed very informal. I'm half tempted to just go in jeans and a button-up shirt. Maybe upgrade the jeans to khakis?

The conventional wisdom is its better to be overdressed than underdressed, but following direction is pretty important too I think. I went to another interview where it was business casual, and both before and after me were in suits. If I were the interviewer, Id think they either didn't know how to read or were trying to overdress to compensate for shortfalls.

Thoughts?

BrknFngrs
11-05-2007, 04:06 PM
I'd still avoid jeans, I'd do a nice set of khakis and a sweater

GQBalla
11-05-2007, 04:33 PM
go khakis and a golf shirt.

topmade
11-05-2007, 04:36 PM
Originally posted by BrknFngrs
I'd still avoid jeans, I'd do a nice set of khakis and a sweater
:werd: Khakis with any long or short sleeved collored shirt.

PINOY-X
11-05-2007, 04:39 PM
business atire(SP?). Just dont dress up like a bum. Be profesional.

Rat Fink
11-05-2007, 04:40 PM

nj2Type-S
11-05-2007, 04:52 PM
Originally posted by GQBalla

:werd:

JordanEG6
11-05-2007, 05:34 PM
Like stated, I would do the khakis and golf shirt for your first day to be safe. Not too casual, but not formal either. I'd go about that for your first day. Then take a look around you for what other people are wearing.