PDA

View Full Version : 2006 Audi A3 2.0T vs. 2006 BMW 325i

Super_Geo
11-18-2007, 09:47 AM
Edit, revised for the Quattro A3 that I found...

So I found a A3 3.2V6 Quattro for ~$28k USD w/ 11,000 miles, contacted the guy and I'm going to give it a test drive on Tuesday. I will definately be taking it to an independent mechanic to have a loook but what should I get him to look for... anything in particular, or just tell him to give it a full inspection? This is my first time buying a car and I don't want to get fleeced and have something go horribly wrong with the car that would force me to risk jail time for going apeshit on the guy who sold it to me.

I read through the RedFlagDeals website and as far as I can tell here's where I'm standing... let me know if this looks right to you guys.
- I'm not getting a loan for the purchase, so that should simplify it by a bit as far as dealing with a bank for financing while down in the States. I plan on paying with a bank draft after a price has been agreed upon.
- I need him to get me temp plates for California and every other state that I drive through on the way back. Will the dealership deal with the temp plates for other states or how should I go about that?
- It's a used car, I'll need to fax or courier the DMV title to the border crossing 3 days before arriving.
- Audi's warranty should transfer over to Canada with no problems.
- I need to get a letter from Audi stating that there are no pending re-calls on the car.
- The dealership selling the car knows I'm from Canada and didn't seem to have any issues with it... so he should be cool with waving the state tax and registration requirement, right?

2006 Audi A3
3.2L V4 w/ 6-speed DSG (manual gearbox with automatic clutch)
AWD
250hp/216lb-ft
0-60: 5.8s
Options included in the one I'm looking at:
- power heated seats
- BOSE speaker upgrade w/ Satellite Radio
- panoramic double moon roof
- Xenon headlights
- 18" Rims
- Bluetooth compatible for cell phones