PDA

View Full Version : Laptop opinions Dell XPS 1330 or Sony VGNSZ650NC?

redevil
11-23-2007, 11:30 AM
Ok,

So I'm in the market for a new laptop. I am looking at the following two laptops: Dell XPS 1330 or Sony VGNSZ650NC. I can customize the Dell to similar specs as the Sony, but I can also get the Dell for a lower price since there are some things I will not really need on the laptop. I need your opinions to which one would be better. As for use it will only be used for pictures, email, web browsing, and not too much gaming. I am only looking for something that is 13.3" or smaller laptop.

Other things to consider is the warranty and tech support. I currently have a 17" Dell Inspiron 6000, which I went with the extended warranty and tech support for 3 yrs. This proved to be useful to me since have gotten 4 A/C adapters replaced with out any issues, and as for tech support I'm not too good with trying to figure out what went wrong so I need to be able to call for help at any hours of the day.

Let me know what you think. If there is any other laptop to consider let me know.

dragonone
11-23-2007, 11:52 AM
how 'bout a macbook?
popular things ppl do with it now are 4gbs of ram (149 @ canadaram) and 250gb HD swap (144 @ costco)

redevil
11-23-2007, 11:58 AM
Originally posted by dragonone
how 'bout a macbook?
popular things ppl do with it now are 4gbs of ram (149 @ canadaram) and 250gb HD swap (144 @ costco)

not really a fan of mac's

nagooro
11-23-2007, 12:06 PM
I have the dell xps m1210 and have had zero problems with it. So I would probably go for the dell.

redevil
11-23-2007, 12:58 PM
oh the other thing, what operating system should I also go with?

Vista Home Premium Edition or Vista Ultimate Edition?

bball2
11-23-2007, 05:42 PM
I would recommend the dell as well, they have seriously dropped their prices on the xps series over the last few years.

nagooro
11-23-2007, 08:18 PM
I would go with home premium. I think its a waste of $180 upgrading to ultimate.