PDA

View Full Version : Land Surveying/Geomatics

johnny.r1.lee
12-13-2007, 12:58 PM
Any of you in the profession of landsurveying or geomatics???

Do you enjoy it?
Anything you'd warn other people about?

hockey_fan59
12-13-2007, 01:23 PM
its a decent job if you dont mind hard work. pays well but thats only because of huge overtime hours.

winters are tough. depending on who you work for, you do building services. meaning you hammer metal spikes into the ground.

i've never actaully been full time in the industry, but i did some while i was a summer student for Stantec. i worked alongside them a lot of the time.

Antonito
12-13-2007, 01:28 PM
Originally posted by johnny.r1.lee
Any of you in the profession of landsurveying or geomatics???

Do you enjoy it?
Anything you'd warn other people about?

All the guys I went to school with that were in that program love it, but they are outdoorsy guys, so the rain and snow don't bug them.

If you hate being indoors, it 's a great job. If the weather bugs you, it's a terrible job.

johnny.r1.lee
12-13-2007, 03:39 PM
i've also done survey work in the summer,
im just wondering what life is like after your are a commissioned surveyor

Supa Dexta
12-14-2007, 11:33 PM
And depending on what your doing it can be scattered work, if theres not much oil activity, there wont be much for them to do in regards to that.. I spent some time with several of them last winter here and there, I needed to get them to do little jobs and clear several ~150m lines of sight, and set up a base az for me.. I was doing geomagnetic surveying, I always had to go along behind them and pull out the spikes though.. ha, since it would throw off my surveys.... Cold as F*ck standing around doing that all january in macmurray though....

4DoorGTZ
12-15-2007, 02:50 AM