PDA

View Full Version : Beyond Software Project!

Dritto
12-14-2007, 03:01 PM
Hello people! I've had a fun and interesting idea for forum members and myself. It'd be really cool if we could get some kind of software project started on the board, using members feedback to guide the development.

I am a professionally employed developer, but as a fun side project I'd love to spend some time working on an application with Beyond members.

So what I am hoping to gather is this... ideas from anyone who has them! This is an automotive forum, so I'd be expecting to get ideas for software that would be useful to the car crowd. I am TOTALLY open to suggestions,
and if some people are willing to spend a bit of time brainstorming I would love to hear ideas. Big or small, just start with ideas.

If there are any coders out there on Beyond who would like to help, that's totally cool too. It won't matter to most people, but Java is my prefered language. I can code in VB and C++, but Java is where my expertise is, so I'd be looking for someone with some Java knowledge as well. No experts needed though! It'll hopefully be a learning experience for everyone involved, I'll teach you to code if you're interested enough to learn.

I'd want this freely available to everyone, both the program and the code (think GPL), so this is for fun and learning only!

Thoughts and suggestions?!

Zero102
12-14-2007, 03:17 PM
I'd be interested in helping, my java-foo is not as strong as my C++-foo because I have always been revolted by the overhead so I never bothered to fully learn the command sets.

No real ideas for software but I'd like to help out on the condition that whatever is produced is open-source.

Fcuk
12-14-2007, 03:22 PM
this is a great idea however some peoples projects would include profit then you have to divy it between rage etc if you associated it with beyond.

I have a really sick sick idea but no team.

ga16i
12-14-2007, 03:28 PM