PDA

View Full Version : Getting my Licence/car

Jay7779
01-02-2008, 08:33 PM
So, im finally gonna bite the bullet and go and schedule to take my road test, and i need to know what im getting into. I'm 20 years old, and i've had my learners for 6 years, plus my dads a farmer, so i've been driving for longer than i can remember, and i think that im a fairly decent driver. Although, i need to know what specifically they'll be testing for so I can do some mock tests with my friends or parents beforehand.

And does anybody know how much it costs to take the road test? or how long the waiting period is between scheduling and the test itself?

I also have a car I need to register, does anybody know how much it'll set me back? I get alot of crazy answers when i ask friends/co-workers, and chances are you guys know alot better ($40-400 is a pretty big friggen gap, so i dont know who to trust).

Thanks in advance

sr20s14zenki
01-02-2008, 08:37 PM
Registration is about 70$ for a year, have you thought about insurance?

heres more food for thought, i personally think you should take a drivers training course, and heres why

1. they show you what to expect on the exam, and basically teach you to drive

2. It will give you a MUCH better insurance rate, 10% off of your total rate.

the course will cost you like 250$, but its well worth it, believe me. They will get rid of all of your bad habits, which im sure you have, not being trained by a professional.

88CRXGUY
01-02-2008, 08:39 PM
^^I agree with this poster, I did the course 4 years ago and it saved me a 1000 a year on my car insurance. Spending 250 to save a 1000 bucks is pretty good.

When it comes to car insurance you are going to have to phone and see what you can get, more than likely you are driving a pos so don't get full coverage. You need insurance before you can register the vehicle.

Jay7779
01-02-2008, 08:48 PM