PDA

View Full Version : At what speed should you drive?

lianli
01-11-2008, 05:06 PM
I'm a fairly new driver, I've had my license for a year and a half. I understand that the simple answer is the speed limit but I've noticed, especially within the past couple of months that driving even 5 over the speed limit (on a 60 70 zone) gets you honked at, tailed to just a couple of inches, angry drive bys and so on. So what speed should I go? If the flow of traffic is 15 over, will a cop pull me over if say, I'm the closest car to the officer? I've never got a speeding ticket but Im sick of other drivers nearly running into my car.

Smokem
01-11-2008, 05:10 PM
sometimes i'm one of those drivers who does the angry drive bys, other times i'm just like you

my advice is for you to drive as comfortably as you can, as long as you are within 5-10km of the speed limit +/- you are driving fine

if you rear end someone, it's your fault, if they rear end you, it's theirs

one thing i like to do with people tailing me is to give a nice quick one second stomp on the brakes to remind them to maintain a driving distance so eloquently presented by the Calgary Police Office with their nice stickers

adam c
01-11-2008, 05:12 PM
go with the flow as long as u aren't going crazy over the speed limit.. going under or even the speed limit of some roads will get u shot one day

and on deerfoot, going under the speed limit is more dangerous than actually speeding

88CRXGUY
01-11-2008, 05:14 PM