PDA

View Full Version : HLP: Autobody shop (apprentice)

WiltonKillz
01-15-2008, 03:51 PM
Hey, im 17 and im looking into getting into the auto body trade
as maybe prepper and maybe work my way up to refinisher with more exp.
im just wondering if any shops that you might know of are hiring?
im able to work weekends right now and full time in the summer as im currently a student in high school,
i had worked with kal tire as an apprentice last summer but have been very interested in auto body,
im a very reliable hardworking person willing to do what it takes to make this a career for myself.

SkittleFreak
01-15-2008, 06:05 PM
as well, i'm looking for fulltime autobody in the south end :)

pinoyformula
01-15-2008, 06:48 PM
Research a body shop near your area and just go in and talk to a body shop manager and ask if he needs any help. Majority of the the time there going to ask you if you worked at a body shop before. If you never worked at a body shop before you have to convince him why he should hire you and that you are committed to this trade. You have to shop around for different shop's in order to find the right employer. I'm in the auto body trade so i hope this helps you out. Be prepared to be the bitch in the shop and also washing alot of cars, trust me it pays off.

WiltonKillz
01-15-2008, 07:15 PM
Thank you for your advise,
ill print up some cover letter send them out and look around for my self,
I have a good feeling that if i work hard and well be the bitch lol
this will pay off i just need the chance to show a shop im very willing

MrSector9
01-15-2008, 07:59 PM
don't send off letters...

i work in a shop and have been around shop style enviroments all my life...

walk in to the place with a resume and ask to speak to the manager of the shop (not necessarily thebusiness) and jus chat it up with him, be honest about what you want to do with your career.