PDA

View Full Version : Filing Taxes

Bimmer88
01-17-2008, 12:57 AM
So just out of curiousity...

Does anyone here file their own taxes? and if so.. what software do you guys use? or how?

I'm thinking of buying the Quicktax 2007 from Staples for like $59.99? or is that a complete joke?

Thanks,
Steve

PS Anyone wanna help me? I'm a noob at this.. usually I pay an accountant like a CGA... but this time I feel like learning and doing it myself and saving some money.

gatorade
01-17-2008, 02:29 AM
quicktax, takes like 20 mins, Ive done it for 2 years straight its easy

Altezza
01-17-2008, 02:44 AM
My advice to you is do a paper copy of your return. You'll learn how to step through each part of your return. I think it's a great learning experience to know how the calculations are made. This way, you have a better understanding of where you can become more efficient with some of your finances.

How complicated is your return? If it's simple, you don't have to buy the expensive versions of the software. If you have the time and want to learn, I'd suggest doing a paper copy on your own.

Maddog55
01-17-2008, 08:33 AM
Originally posted by Altezza
My advice to you is do a paper copy of your return. You'll learn how to step through each part of your return. I think it's a great learning experience to know how the calculations are made. This way, you have a better understanding of where you can become more efficient with some of your finances.

How complicated is your return? If it's simple, you don't have to buy the expensive versions of the software. If you have the time and want to learn, I'd suggest doing a paper copy on your own.

That is great advice. I started doing my own simple returns (T4 only) on paper about 15 yrs ago. And gave me a great understanding of the tax system.

That being said...the time involved to do that..and your potential mistakes..(even mis-copying a number from one box to another..)I dont know if its worth it.