PDA

View Full Version : New to Investing

Hayate
01-22-2008, 11:55 AM
Hey guys,
Well for the past few days ive been looking around and various investments, different ways to invest money, etc.
Well im fairly young, ive bought almost everything i need (car, college education..etc.) and im just looking for a smart way to manage my money
Should i maybe take a business class to learn more about managing my money, or do you guys believe that being self taught can be sufficient enough in learning ways to invest?

adam c
01-22-2008, 12:03 PM
if your young then u should invest into some RRSP before u start throwing money into the stock market

Rat Fink
01-22-2008, 12:06 PM

Hayate
01-22-2008, 12:58 PM
Yeah i was thinking about RRSPs, they make the most sense for me. But I never thought of that paper trade idea, which is actually pretty smart. Thanks for the info guys.

Canmorite
01-22-2008, 01:01 PM
Originally posted by Rat Fink
For sure.....RRSPs, and then if you're really interested in getting into the stock market on your own...paper trade for a couple years.

paper trade meaning....pretend to trade. Think to yourself "okay, i have 3000 dollars, I can buy XXXX amount of shares of whatever company" Keep track of your profits as if you would've been trading. You'll find it's not as easy of a game as a lot of people think, and it will save you from jumping in as a greenhorn and losing real money off the bat.

This is a great way to start. There are many online simulators that mimick exactly what the market does. You can place fake buy/sell orders and see what happens.

Of course, there is no risk involved and when you trade actual money its a LOT different.

Keep all your records on a spreadsheet too.

Wraith
01-22-2008, 01:07 PM
Try http://www.globeinvestor.com/ we used it in school and it works pretty well.

Euro_Trash
01-22-2008, 01:25 PM
www.howthemarketworks.com

anarchy
01-22-2008, 01:29 PM
Those sites sound very interesting.