PDA

View Full Version : Online Borkerage for Canadians

ExtraSlow
01-27-2008, 06:42 PM
Anyone out there trading stocks online? I know most of the big banks have brokerages, and there's always e-trade, TradeFreedon, Q-trade, Credential etc.

Which one do you use and why do you like it?

I'm just getting into this, and I would like to be able to trade Canadian and American stocks, which I hear not all of them allow.
I'm not looking to get into day trading where a couple of minutes will make or break me, this is for a more long term type of investing.

Looking for opinions.

ryanallan
01-27-2008, 06:48 PM
I use TD Waterhouse.

I have been using it for some time now, and really have no complaints. if you make less than 30 trades per quarter the cost is $29.00 per trade, $9.99 if you make between 30-150, and $7 if you make more than 150 trades per quarter.

The interface is easy to use, and I am able to make trades in both the Canadian and US markets.

roopi
01-27-2008, 06:50 PM
http://forums.beyond.ca/st/132116/online-brokers/

http://forums.beyond.ca/st/143926/buying-and-selling-commisions/

http://forums.beyond.ca/st/194534/penny-stocks-which-broker-to-use/

http://forums.beyond.ca/st/27592/good-investments-stocks/

bmeier
01-27-2008, 07:00 PM
if you are just starting and have 10 K to put into your account you should look at disnat direct. if you open a new account with them you get a free stock trading course that usually costs around 3 grand... The guy who started the course is a local calgarian and he knows his stuff.

http://stockscores.ca/offers/knowledgeismoney/

ExtraSlow
01-27-2008, 07:06 PM
Just read those threads and I can't see a clear winner.
I do have around $10k to invest, I'll look into the stockscores stuff.

Canmorite
01-27-2008, 07:16 PM
+1 for Tyler at Stockscores. I've known him for a while and his course is top-notch for beginners.

EDIT: That course is all about technical trading, and mostly day or swing trades. Might not be what your into...