PDA

View Full Version : head gasket replacement

sh0ko
02-17-2008, 08:09 PM
hey guys

im not sure if i should but i reallly wanna try to replace my headgasket (its needed as its starting to leak) now im watching the video in HQ on how to remove and replace the headgasket but i believe his is a gen 3 w/ egr while mine is a gen 1 w/o egr and p/s and al that jazz

anybody have experience doing this?!
is anyone willing to help me that has done this b4?! im willing to $$$ for the help as going to my mechanic would cost me 1500 (without parts.. but i already have the new parts waiting). im just a little worried that im not experienced enough with this but at the same time im really eager to learn and give it a go.. i just really wish someone who has done this b4 would do it with me!

also i dunno if i have the ALL the tools for this...and does it require removing the engine from the vehicle?!

thanx guys

any tips /advice/help would b mostly appreciated
i know redlyne, jvillain and thinmyster know what theyre doing.. whehter or not u guys have the time is another issue

sr20s14zenki
02-17-2008, 08:27 PM
Its not THAT hard you just need to take your time. You will need a torque wrench, and specs to retorque your head bolts to spec, as well as what order to tighten them in. Give yourself down time, because i would reccomend taking your head to an engine shop to get it checked for warpage, and planed if neccissary.

marimba
02-17-2008, 08:50 PM
im right in the middle of doing the headgasket on my 91 and to be honest there are a few tough moments. im a journeyman tech so i was able to figure it all out, but if you dont have much experience you may want to let some one else do it. mines taking quite a long time because im sanding and painting all the parts as i go but if i just do the basics it could be done in a weekend. anyway lemme know if you want help
dave

stevo 27
02-18-2008, 12:01 AM