PDA

View Full Version : Need help buying my first car.

Paulk_04
03-24-2008, 09:36 PM
Hello everyone.

I am planning on buying my first car this summer, but the problem is I am a complete layman when it comes to cars. Seeing as there are a lot of experts here, I was hoping some people could help me. Alrighty then, some details about my situation. I am an 18 year old male and I will have about $5000 to buy the car. My main priorities are reliability and affordibility. Also what should I look for when I actually go to buy my first used car. Any tips or help is greatly appreciated. Thanks.

PK

Toms-SC
03-24-2008, 09:38 PM
Prepare for a cluster fuck.

Get something cheap like a fleet car (Ford Taurus)
Get something that does not take premium fuel
Get something where there are lots of parts and people know how to work on them
Get something with cheap insurance (Not a Civic)

Theres your advice

4lti7ude
03-24-2008, 09:43 PM
Get a good insurance company :thumbsup:

03-24-2008, 09:48 PM
take it for an inspection (NOT AT CANADIAN TIRE)

Paulk_04
03-24-2008, 10:16 PM
Can someone give me some real advice?

rc2002
03-24-2008, 10:17 PM
Make sure you get the car checked out and steer clear of used car dealerships.

Try to find a low mileage, original owner car with no accidents, all original paint and complete service history. :rofl: Good luck.

A good idea is to buy from a good family friend or even family.

Paulk_04
03-24-2008, 10:18 PM
I'm buying from a family friend who owns a new and used car dealership.

Hash_man
03-24-2008, 10:53 PM
Use carproof.com for vehicle history reports. They aren't cheap, so make sure you are serious about a car before doing so. If it checks out there, then get it inspected by a reliable mechanic before buying.