PDA

View Full Version : Lawyer - Photos Published Without Permission

mboldt
04-10-2008, 01:23 PM
I don't know if anyone has had any experience with any lawyers regarding copyrights, etc. But I recently submitted 30 images to a magazine for review, I never signed, or spoke to the editor even. 11 of those images were published, its a Canada wide magazine... so I am pretty pissed and am looking to make a settlement.. I am looking to own these guys, they aren't cheap, they have advertisers like Calvin Klein and Tag Heuer...

Any info will help!

spiffyguido
04-10-2008, 01:36 PM
If you own those pictures, they have no right to use them without your permission. Check to make sure you didn't skip over any fine print during the submission process.

Afrodeziak
04-10-2008, 01:37 PM
I'm no lawyer but I'd say you have a case. Always send your photos as proofs though, not full size or quality, this way nothing can be used in print unless they want to make themselves look like asses.

Was it a misunderstanding that these photo's were passed along internally within their company ? or are you pretty sure they knew they were getting away with a quick one ?

liquid1010
04-10-2008, 01:38 PM
Definitely review the documentation you submitted them with. If that doesn't state anything specific, speak directly with their editor.

R-Audi
04-10-2008, 01:40 PM
What kind of review were you looking for??
How were the photo's used?

Donmega
04-10-2008, 01:41 PM
Originally posted by liquid1010
Definitely review the documentation you submitted them with. If that doesn't state anything specific, speak directly with their editor.

exactly, there might be a slight chance of fine print that was missed :dunno:

mboldt
04-10-2008, 01:44 PM