PDA

View Full Version : High Efficiency furnace cost?

old&slow
04-14-2008, 05:12 AM
Does a High Efficiency cost $4800 installed?
Seems like a lot of money...

Tik-Tok
04-14-2008, 05:58 AM
A month ago there was a furnace installer with a display at Costco, he said a 90% one would be about $3500 installed. Don't remember the company though, sorry.

ExtraSlow
04-14-2008, 07:08 AM
I have a quote for a new furnace in front of me. Here is what they say:
- 95% furnace - $3800 extras (thermostat, plenum, condensate pump, humidifier etc) $1234
Total = $5034.

Now obviously, not everyone needs the condensate pump and plenum work, so you can't compare this straight across, but if your quote is all-in, then that's in the ballpark.

JordanLotoski
04-14-2008, 08:06 AM
I have a guy that will beat that price...pm me and ill send you his number.

x.staygold.x
04-15-2008, 01:24 PM
i could install the furnaces for a lot cheaper than that...i'm an HVAC technician. its what i do for a living. and i dont mind side jobs...

old&slow
04-15-2008, 04:10 PM
I think the install would be pretty simple in my case. House is only 10 years old. I want a decent HE furnace to put in...

ercchry
04-15-2008, 04:19 PM
yeah i've installed a few (with help since im still a first year) and they are cake, can get the old one out and new one in in under a day, you also have to remember that cost is going to vary depending on size

and installing a humidifier is cake and you can do that yourself, but with a furnace you will have to get it inspected too and the company doing the work should be able to organize all of that

but most of our quotes are for a lot more hours then it really does take us to do it

benyl
04-15-2008, 04:22 PM
Originally posted by old&slow
I think the install would be pretty simple in my case. House is only 10 years old. I want a decent HE furnace to put in...