PDA

View Full Version : Ebay Newbie - a couple questions.

ExtraSlow
04-30-2008, 10:06 AM
OK guys, I'm not a total newbie to online shopping, but I've always used online stores, not auctions.
Any tips and tricks for me?

Specific questions:
1) Are purchases from the states subject to customs duties, it's been hit or miss with the stores I've used. Does the shipping company or method effect this? It seems like USPS shipping has usually meant paying duty in the past. FedEx, not.
2) is it worth getting one of those "sniping" programs to place my bids for me? I'm not likely to buy very many items. Which sniper program would you recommend?
3) Items I'm likely to be looking at are electronics, is it worth paying for the insurance?

First purchase is likely to be a GPS.

Cooked Rice
04-30-2008, 12:24 PM
USPS is hit and miss for paying duty, But when you have to it's not bad. It's $5 plus 5% of what the item was marked as being worth. AVOID UPS BY ALL MEANS! They will rape you with ridiculus brokerage fees (as in by usually 30% of what the item if worth). FedEx is also okay! It's $10 plus the GST on the item.

Personally I never used any sniper program. Never really had to.

It is worth buying extra insurance, but check what method they are using to ship first. Usually a lot of services offer free insurance for the first $100 or so.

megavolt
04-30-2008, 12:37 PM
I always snipe, I think newb bidding wars with 2 days left in the auction are retarded...

JRSC00LUDE
04-30-2008, 12:40 PM
Originally posted by megavolt
I always snipe, I think newb bidding wars with 2 days left in the auction are retarded...

Love the snipe. That's how I got my brand new S/C'er for something around $800 a couple years ago! :eek:

Kloubek
04-30-2008, 12:42 PM
Never used a snipe program. Never really had to. But I've bought over 50 things off ebay, and always got what I wanted for the price I wanted.