PDA

View Full Version : Subprime - Canadas Problem

broken_legs
05-11-2008, 10:49 PM
Yes its another real estate thread!

I just wanted to separate out the Canadian lending problem we are/could/will be facing from the other threads on here.

If you don't think subprime lending standards are going to affect real estate in Canada you should give this a read. This letter is from a Mortgage Broker responding to an article at this blog:

http://www.greaterfool.ca/

I truly enjoy reading your very honest and candid opinions regarding the upcoming Canadian Real Estate market.

I have been arranging mortgages for the last 18 years in Canada, brokering for the last 12 and have seen many changes in the industry.

However, find it absolutely shocking that most Canadians don’t think we even have a Subprime market in Canada.

The introduction of the 40 year amortizations, true no money down financing and stated income programs allowing clients to fabricate their income and purchase with 5% down are truly the driving force in the market. Do I agree with these programs? No…. But these programs have seemed to become acceptable by the Bank’s and the public as the new industry standards.

I honestly don’t think the public even understands what a “Subprime” Mortgage is.

It never gets defined.

Does it only pertain to clients with blemished credit? Or is it the inability to provide documented proof of their actual income or completed tax returns?

Yes I think those qualify and maybe that was where this all started… But I now believe that the subprime market has evolved into a new much more diverse demographic. And what is most discerning is the fact the many consumers may not even be aware that they are now a part of this market.

My own personal definition of a subprime mortgage is one that is detrimental to the financial wellbeing of the end user. Now this may sound very generic, but the following will explain why: