PDA

View Full Version : Noob Question

enzo_veyron
05-24-2008, 05:45 PM
Noob here, I bought a truck. 1992 4WD 'deluxe' pick up.
I'm a noob. Never had a toyota truck, nor a 4WD truck.

I want to swap out all the fluids - but I'm getting confused about what I'm supposed to use. What is ADD and how can I tell if I have it? How can I identify which transmission I have? What kind of oil do I use on the 'propeller' shafts?

High miles - 230k. It was rebuilt at 170. Would it be a bad or a good idea to use synthetic or synthetic blend oil?

Any help would be appreciated. I got online to order fluids and I'm just lost. Also, where can i buy parts for this truck over the internet?

Graham_A_M
05-24-2008, 05:52 PM
AmsOil is the best you can use, abiet at a price,
Talk to an AmsOil rep and they'll be able to suggest just which oil to use where on your truck.
Mobil 1 makes fantastic oils at a much more reasonable cost, as AmsOil is quite expensive.

If your "THAT" clueless; you may want to take it to Midas/Blaskin & Lane (or whoever) and let them do it.:thumbsup:
Good luck:)

Supa Dexta
05-24-2008, 06:00 PM
Use any oil you like, just be sure to change it at a good interval. I don't buy into all the hype and extra money fancy designer oils claim. Especially when many of them all meet the same tests. That said I have mobil one in my daily driver, only because it was on sale. But I wouldn't shy away from castrol, quaker, shell, motomaster, or even walmart synthetic... Whatever is on sale is fine for me...:dunno:

ianmcc
05-24-2008, 07:09 PM
Do you want to keep it for a long time or is it a to-be-upgraded-when-I-can-afford-better ride?
For a high-miler, stick to cheap dino sauces; the age of the vehicle warrants nothing more expensive. A classic or expensive car, or a race machine looking for the last iota of performance will benefit from the higher costs of full synth but not your truck. Like Supa says, the cheap stuff still meets the same minimum standards.

ZMan2k2