PDA

View Full Version : Bov Noob question

tsuga
06-11-2008, 09:28 PM
so on my booted 89 probe i just noticed that the bov ejects gas right back into my intake piping or an internal system if you will.

so i decided to make it external when i started my car i noticed that my rpm was fluctruating and i thought "well thats not good"
so i shut the car off and covered the bov exit pipe and noticed that the rpm went back to normal.

now my question is there way to make it so that air isnt being sucked though the bov? or would i have to just buy an after market one?

i also tryed this with a stock talon bov but it was the same thing.

please dont bust my chops im still learning about this ok.
for being self taught so far about mechanics and doing good till now is pretty good kay.

sr20s14zenki
06-11-2008, 09:32 PM
See if you can tighten the spring in the bov, should be an adjustment screw. If you cant, you will need to get one that seals properly, hks SSQV or somethng,

tsuga
06-11-2008, 09:34 PM
is the screw usually in a visable area?

sr20s14zenki
06-11-2008, 09:35 PM
its usually on the side opposite of the air discharge side. what kinda bov is it?

tsuga
06-11-2008, 09:40 PM
well its stock from a 89 probe gt and a the other is from a talon

sr20s14zenki
06-11-2008, 09:41 PM
both of them are made to be plumbed into recirc, being factory bovs. i think thers a trick to make a talon bov work atmospheric, but im not sure. Get an aftermarket blowoff valve, Greddy RS, HKS ssqv, BLITZ, etc...NO KNOCKOFFS

ercchry
06-11-2008, 09:49 PM
i thought a recirc was completely different from a bov? and evan come compression test my motor! haha.... please?

sr20s14zenki
06-11-2008, 09:55 PM
not necissarily. They operate on the same principal,but from the factory, they are of course not going to pay attention to the sealing abilities of the valve if they dont have to, thats why they leak atmospheric.

tsuga
06-12-2008, 09:08 AM
ah sweet thanks for the info :thumbsup:

Supa Dexta