PDA

View Full Version : Propane Mods

biggreenmachine
06-18-2008, 07:39 PM
Hey all,
I'm really new to propane and need some direction. I just cracked my block so I'm building a new 351W. I dont have a pile of money but I want to do all the internal mods I'll need later while its appart now. Finding this info has proven to be difficult and all I know I want so far is High compession pistons and some day I'll add a turbo or something. I've also been advised to remove the cam it had and go back to a stock cam.
Any insight to things I'll want get done while its apart would be really appreciated.

Thanks guys!

stevo 27
06-18-2008, 08:28 PM
Propane :thumbsdow

del has tried for years and just can't get over 500hp reliably with a propane powered 454

but if you go through with it get some hardedned valves (propane burns hotter than gas 1500-1600 degree's all day long)
some 12.0-1 comp pistons
scat rods and crank (its garbage but cheap)
and get a real big meaty cam

your gonna need some bigger mixers or you can use 2 400cfm one on a dual tunnel ram

and ditch the propane

biggreenmachine
06-18-2008, 08:31 PM
I'd actually be happy with 500 hp. Any other thoughts?

alloroc
06-19-2008, 08:03 AM
Originally posted by biggreenmachine
Hey all,
I'm really new to propane and need some direction. I just cracked my block so I'm building a new 351W. I dont have a pile of money but I want to do all the internal mods I'll need later while its appart now. Finding this info has proven to be difficult and all I know I want so far is High compession pistons and some day I'll add a turbo or something. I've also been advised to remove the cam it had and go back to a stock cam.
Any insight to things I'll want get done while its apart would be really appreciated.

Thanks guys!

If it is a track car and you are going to be using race gas, propane sucks.