PDA

View Full Version : rock chips on side of car???

codewarrior73
07-24-2008, 09:23 PM
Hi there. I'm a newbie posting here. I'd just like to ask if anyone has an idea what could cause dot-sized chips on the left side of a car... this is my first car, 2005 Volvo S40... so I don't know if it is just my car that has these... I've had it for two summers but this summer I notice a lot of small dots more on the left side of the vehicle. Is this normal?

Supa Dexta
07-24-2008, 09:30 PM
Either your own wheels kicking it up, wind kicking it up in a parking lot you park in mostly, or a car doing doughnuts spraying you with rocks.

codewarrior73
07-24-2008, 09:41 PM
You mean rocks? Perhaps my own wheels if they're a bit far to the side? I do have brand new tires. The little dots are not so low, they are mostly above the trim of the door on the side. Follow up question, is it possible to have a body shop repaint just this area/side? Can these be fixed?

JAYMEZ
07-24-2008, 09:43 PM
I have the same thing on one of my cars.. It happened when I changed my tires.. Its freaking annoying and is only one side!

nobb
07-24-2008, 10:00 PM
Do you drive on gravel alot? My work truck which is driven heavily in the oilfield (at 80kph+ on gravel roads) has tons of tiny rock chips even high up on the body.

codewarrior73
07-24-2008, 10:17 PM
and what about paint repair only one 1 panel/side.. is this possible?

reply to previous posters:

yeah, it is annoying... wow... bmw m3/porsche... you have very nice cars...

i like cars a lot but i can only afford what i have that's why i try to take care of it... :)

i don't drive in gravel much... but i think it may also be when the car beside me on the parking lot backs up or goes into his slot. that would explain why the chips are situated where they are. that theory is quite plausible.

vtec4life
07-25-2008, 11:27 AM