PDA

View Full Version : Mortgage Life & Disability Insurance????

msouther
07-28-2008, 01:09 PM
Hey Folks,

I want some advice as to whether or not the general public on here chooses to go with this through their lender, or declines?

I have 1 mortage for my principal residence which we chose to go with this on. For my investment property I am considering whether or not to do so.

Insurance is just that, just in case something happens. Chances are if you are healthy (like we are) you will never need it and it is a waste. I guess it is piece of mind, but I am contemplating whether or not to get it and then if the answer is not, cancelling it on my other mortgage to save some money.

Thanks for any opinions etc.

el-nino
07-28-2008, 02:06 PM
I personally think that you should get it. Not through the bank or a mortgage Broker but go through a financial planner. Thats my personal opinion and I am a mortgage broker.

sputnik
07-28-2008, 03:00 PM
Get a good life insurance policy instead.

The disability insurance usually only covers cancer, stroke and heart attacks.

If the property is for rental why do you car about insurance when your tenants will be paying the mortgage for you?

Godfuader
07-28-2008, 03:17 PM
No disability on rental properties.

Masked Bandit
07-28-2008, 03:38 PM
Like others have said, buy a decent life policy outside of any mortgage / loan set up. It's a long explanation as to why but a decent life agent should be able to explain it to you.

When the wife and I bought our first property I was just going to get the stuff through the mortgage broker but I was lucky enough to have a life agent in our office that I could hassle for information (his office was next to mine). In the end, it should be a damn crime to even sell mortgage life insurance.

I have the name and number of a decent life / disability guy if you are interested.

msouther
07-28-2008, 05:10 PM