PDA

View Full Version : Cool Blackberry apps

Doozer
08-05-2008, 10:48 PM
I just picked up a new Blackberry Curve on the weekend (8330), and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions for some of the cooler/interesting/useful apps for it. Maybe good online resources for them?

I'm a software professional so I'm comfortable playing around with it. But this is the first berry that I've owned so I really only have the vaguest idea of what it can do, and I'm sure there's a lot of cool stuff out there that it would take me months to figure out on my own.

ronaldo
08-05-2008, 11:00 PM
Opera Mini and Weather Eye are two of my favorites

spike98
08-05-2008, 11:02 PM
^Agreed

Jivetalk or IM+ for MSN or other IMing

Doozer
08-06-2008, 09:12 AM
Originally posted by ronaldo
Opera Mini and Weather Eye are two of my favorites I assume Opera Mini is a mini version of the browser, and Weather Eye is a program that shows the local weather?

ronaldo
08-06-2008, 10:25 AM
yup:thumbsup:

viigo is a cool newsreader as well

spyce
08-06-2008, 10:39 AM
viigo is awesome for a rss news feed
googlemaps is better than the blackberry maps imo

syeve
08-06-2008, 10:59 AM
rad...weather eye and viigo is so good.

Kona9
08-06-2008, 11:07 AM
www.crackberry.com

info on all Blackberry's with add ons etc.

CLiVE
08-06-2008, 11:14 AM
gpsed - free download and gpsed.com

It is a gps distance tracker that tells speed, distance, time travelled. Great for running/hiking, etc. to tell distance travelled. You can then upload your tracks to the gpsed website and show them on google maps. Very cool. For example here's a short jog from the other day. (yellow line). Blue line is part of my commute to work.

Doozer
08-06-2008, 11:17 AM
Originally posted by Kona9
www.crackberry.com

info on all Blackberry's with add ons etc.

Originally posted by CLiVE
gpsed - free download and gpsed.com