PDA

View Full Version : Work for/Recently hired at a Big 4 firm?

DUBBED
08-13-2008, 09:18 AM
PM me.

Thanks

broken_legs
08-13-2008, 10:48 AM
Just curious, whats a 'Big 4' firm?

Dope Dealer
08-13-2008, 10:54 AM
Big 4 refers to auditors... Deloitte Touche Tohmatsu, Price Waterhouse Coopers, Ernst & Young and KPMG.

blownz
08-13-2008, 11:21 AM
Originally posted by Dope Dealer
Big 4 refers to auditors...

Accountants. Auditing is only one aspect of it.

But yes those are the 'big 4' Accounting firms. I am an Accountant so I just feel the need to be anal about this. lol :thumbsup:

Dope Dealer
08-13-2008, 11:35 AM
Haha, I knew someone would say that.. I was gonna put accounting firms, then someone would say it was auditing firms... :nut:

DJ_NAV
08-13-2008, 01:24 PM
these companies also provide consulting, tax advice, do complilations, offer IT consulting and also provide startup stuff for self-employement.

l/l/rX
08-13-2008, 01:51 PM
so whats this thread about then? is Dubbed just looking for some info or something?

sputnik
08-13-2008, 01:52 PM
Originally posted by DJ_NAV
these companies also ... offer IT consulting

For the record...

They (KPMG and E&Y specifically) do a terrible job of IT auditing. Their security audits are mediocre at best.

KappaSigma
08-13-2008, 02:38 PM
Originally posted by blownz

Accountants. Auditing is only one aspect of it.

But yes those are the 'big 4' Accounting firms. I am an Accountant so I just feel the need to be anal about this. lol :thumbsup:

Big 4 are basically auditors. Especially when your articling. That is all you will do when compared to mid to small size firms who will give you all types of engagements and the whole file to prepare.

Big 4 = audit pool

blownz
08-13-2008, 02:56 PM
^ but they are all Accountants working there. They don't call themselves 'auditors'. What you do when you're articling has nothing to do with it.