PDA

View Full Version : Further Education

civicHB
08-14-2008, 07:18 PM
Hey Beyond Experts,

I've been working for about three years since graduating university and frankly i'm not satisfied with the amount of money my career is generating. I have a BSC in mathematical sciences and I just don't think this is going to cut it for much longer. I'm looking to specialize in a professional field that will actually be worth something in five to ten years.
Any CFA's on beyond? I will be taking the exam in December and would like some career advise and help with the finding related Jobs
How about any other ideas? Maybe going back to get an engineering degree?

cressida_pimpin
08-14-2008, 09:34 PM
You could get an MBA and go into accounting, finance, marketing etc.

Tearin
08-14-2008, 10:15 PM
I have a professional degree and it pays really well. However, don't think that getting a professional degree is the key to a get rich quick scheme.

Engineer - if, you get through the schooling - you'll have to spend 5 years as an Engineer in Training before writing your P. Eng exam. Then congratulations - you're a geer in a sea o'plenty.

MBA/CFA - shudder - I deal with them everyday and at times that FedEx commercial is bang on. Like money? Big money is in project financing. However, have fun being a financial modeler or relationship manager for several years before you get to look, with averted eyes, at a CFO - let alone speak to them.

Legal - one year of articling and bar admission hoops. Wanna make money - you're competing with everyone for a select number of positions in a tier 1 firm in the hopes of being held on as an associate. Think securities law (and no life) for the $.

Bottom line, big picture - I wouldn't discourage you from higher education. It's the path I followed. But! It took a long time for it to pay off.

civicHB
08-15-2008, 11:07 AM
Originally posted by Tearin