PDA

View Full Version : Anyone work for shaw?

punky
08-18-2008, 04:24 PM
I'm getting an interview with them on wednesday for an engineering intern position. Just looking to see what kind of employer they are, work environment, benefits...etc
If you have any experience with them! please sharE!

Diesel2005
08-19-2008, 08:43 AM
engineering postion at shaw?

what are you exactly doing? I didn't know shaw hires engineers.

Grogador
08-19-2008, 09:25 AM
I worked in the field at Shaw for three years and have a few friends in various departments there. The benefits are good (medical, drugs, dental, vision, STD, LTD, $500/yr for special services like chiro, psych, whatever) and there's room to move up. They're pretty good for a larger company, all about their "family business" mentality, Visions/Values and Shaw University etc. however eventually you'll see that it's mostly talk; they just want to ride you as hard as possible for as little pay as possible. New hires will get paid more and you'll get your 2.5% per year if you're lucky. JR will bore you to death with his book and blather. Getting ahead isn't easy when people are too paranoid of their positions to share any knowledge with you. YMMV, it would be a great place for an internship. Yes, they hire Engineers, mostly for network, telecom, electrical, software...

Recca168
08-19-2008, 10:46 AM
That sounds about right. One catch with the internship is that you won't get any of the medical benefits

SilverGS
08-19-2008, 11:09 AM
Yeah I have been warned about the "Shaw family Mentality" they have there. Not saying you shouldn't go for a job there but I have heard the work environment there is not the greatest.

punky
08-19-2008, 11:11 PM
electrical intern is the position they are interviewing me for.

I'll see how it goes tommorrow.

anarchy
08-20-2008, 01:23 AM
I think it's a great company to work for, lots of good benefits, and strong work atmosphere. The employees are typically great and a nice casual environment.