PDA

View Full Version : Electrician

teggypimp95
08-21-2008, 10:47 AM
Hey Guys,

Any beyonders here an electrician or in the process of becoming one?

I currently work for oil and gas, and even though the money is ok, i am bored as hell and just not happy with what i am doing.

I was curious of what beyonders thought of this trade and could give me any usful information before i make the big switch.

Also, if you know of any companies that may be looking for first year guys please let me know. I am interested in industrial or commerical. Thanks.

kylemitz
09-05-2008, 06:59 PM
hey, im a first year apprentice working for western electric. right now they are hiring quite a few people, so i would suggest applying asap. you start at 14/hour for a three month probation, then your upgraded to first year wages which is 17.50/hour

sillysod
09-05-2008, 07:39 PM
Electrical is a pretty good gig.

I would recommend getting your j-man ticket through a local company and even start doing dreaded residential electrical.

Move up if you can and try to get a job with a commercial or industrial company and maybe even look at the IBEW for a few years.

If you are good with computer (and if you are online here you probably are comfortable enough) I would strongly look at getting into PLC's. They are not difficult for electricians with computer skills to learn to program.

There is a huge shortage of PLC programmers and it is becoming harder and harder to find them. They command huge $$$ and you can contract out for even more. You can work from home a lot and with your field experience you will have a huge edge on any programmer only guys.

A PLC programmer that can commission systems and trouble shoot both hardware and software is as high as you can get in the electrical trade.

You will take PLC's in your 3rd year so I would strongly suggest that you take a good, hard look at it when you study it.

f150mikey060
09-05-2008, 08:00 PM