PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

tjaym
08-22-2008, 07:21 PM
Hi all, I need some advice on the oil and gas industry.
ive been working as a furnace installer in new homes for 3 years but im looking at starting out a new career in the oil and gas sector but I dont have any job related experience and am having a hard time conecting with employers.
for starters im not even sure what exactly id like to do but Heavy equipment operator and environmental field technician interest me the most so far. what is the best way to learn about all the different jobs out there?
second whats the best way to get a job without any job specific experience and without knowing anyone personally who could help?

thanks for any help and advice.

Tyler

badatusrnames
08-22-2008, 07:31 PM
Sometimes it's not what you know - it's who you know.

Sorry I could offer better specific advice, but it's true.

Try to hit up relatives, friends and acquaintances and see if they can help you get your foot in the door. Sometimes that's all it takes - the hidden job market is huge.

tjaym
08-22-2008, 07:41 PM
i know thats the problem...i barely know anyone...thats the problem...got no family cept my mom and just moved here from lethbridge so dont know many people either. sucks cause im dieing to get to work.

Graham_A_M
08-22-2008, 07:49 PM
I used to work in the oil and gas sector, I was a field operator for a oil & gas well servicing company. I'm by no means a veteran in the industy, but I can perhaps help you with your questions.

The thing is though about the oil patch, is that its very "Feast of Famine". Its about as up and down as it gets... at times you can be working for months straight with no days off because its absolute balls-to-the-walls busy, other times you can be out of a job for months at a time.

That said company went from SCREAMING for people (as in hiring random people off the street just to fill jobs) to laying off 15 out of the 60 employees at that district 6 weeks later.