PDA

View Full Version : Sway bars = better handling

shin0bi
08-27-2008, 10:19 AM
I'm no expert, or mechanic, or street racing F+F wannabe, but I wanted to work with what I got to improve the performance potential.

Holycrap.

I installed a front sway bar last night, and right off the bat, the damn thing has made a HUGE improvement in my handling potential.

If you want to improve your handling, and you drive a vehicle that wasn't necessarily made right out of the box to be driven like you hate it, then I'd highly recommend getting sway bars. Especially if you're inclined to take corners pretty hard.

Now for my question:

Can anyone weigh in on this for me?
Would a rear sway bar be recommended for a fwd daily driven application?

I've heard in some fwd applications, the added stiffness from a rear sway bar coupled with a light rear end can actually cause unsavory results. (Ie. the back can kick out when you really dont want it to.) Making safety a problem.

Anyone here with any first hand experience?

bspot
08-27-2008, 10:21 AM
I went with a bigger rear sway and left the stock front sway (which is still fairly stiff) to get rid of understeer and balance the car out more.

If your rear is way stiffer than your front, yeah, you can end up with oversteer.

Grogador
08-27-2008, 10:22 AM
Originally posted by shin0bi

Yeah, ask that guy who spun out and totaled his CRX on Deerfoot... he had stiff anti-roll bars...

ercchry
08-27-2008, 10:25 AM
wow really? no way!

if you think that is somethng try coil overs

The Cosworth
08-27-2008, 10:28 AM
Rear sway bar was a huge improvement on my car getting rid of understeer

rage2
08-27-2008, 10:44 AM
I'm no expert, or mechanic, or street racing F+F wannabe, but I wanted to work with what I got to improve the performance potential.

Holycrap.

I installed a front sway bar last night, and right off the bat, the damn thing has made a HUGE improvement in my handling potential.