PDA

View Full Version : Buying my first car! Needing advices! (Thinking about a BMW)

Smooth-Op
08-27-2008, 05:28 PM
Hey guys!

I just graduated from University and now it's time for me to buy my very first car! =)
I'm 22, and the only car I've been using for the past 3 years is my parents SunFire 2005... An automatic.
Now that I’m finally out of school and working. I'm looking to get something a little more exciting and funnier to drive than a ******* SunFire... However, I’ve never really been too much into cars… so that’s why I need advices from you guys ;P
Here’s my situation/profile:
I live in Canada (Quebec) so there’s quite a bit of snow during most of the year where I live… so I was thinking about getting an AWD vehicle.
Also, I’ve really always liked BMWs so I was thinking about getting an used BMW 325XI, 328XI or 330XI between 2000-2004. I’d like to put under 20 000$ if possible for the car.

So now here are my questions :

What do you guys think of BMW?

I’ve red a bit about BMW and some ppl on forums say that BMW owners are mainly douchebags and assholes… is it a very spread conception?

Are those good years (2000-2004) for this model (3xxXI)?

How’s the consumption on those cars?

How much should I expect to pay per year for repairs ‘n shit?

If you have another car to suggest, feel free to do so but for now I’m really leaning toward a BMW.

Thanks!!

hks
08-27-2008, 06:12 PM
i think you'll be hard pressed to find an AWD BMW newer than 2002 for under 20k. plus, they're not the cheapest cars to maintain.

the car itself is decent, but it might not be worth it in the long run.

Smooth-Op
08-27-2008, 06:18 PM
Doesn't really have to be a 330. I believe the 325 will have all the HP I need.

Plus it looks identical, right? And consume less?

realazy
08-27-2008, 06:46 PM
The 325xi isn't gonna be very fun to drive. It's much slower than the 330xi and even slower than a regular 325i.