PDA

View Full Version : RANT: U of C Subway

Pages : [1] 2

nonlinear
09-19-2008, 12:49 PM
i've been working at the U of C since 2001, and have been going to the Subway there since it opened (2004-ish?).

I absolutely hate this franchise, though, and only go because the on-campus options are so limited and overpriced.

I really hate the asshole owner guy (brian, or something). He's a jerk to everyone, and i've seen him literally get into fights and yell/scream at customers. not a good way to run a business. one time, this lady wanted bacon on her salad, and the idiots working were totally fucking up the salad, and Brian yelled at the lady that her attitude wasn't helping. she walked away and he THREW the salad across the room. Thankfully, he hasn't been working in the last year or so.

However, he has caught the 'one napkin policy' that seems to be contagious on campus (starting with the chinese food places first, of course). I always order 12-inch subs, and I can tell you from major expereince that one chinsy napkin IS NOT ENOUGH for a huge, messy, oil-dripping foot long sub. what the fuck does a napkin cost? $0.01???? and then today I asked the dumb girl working there for a couple of extra napkins, and she gave me 1!!!!

Also, they don't give out plastic bags by default, and instead have a sign up saying "help us conserve" or some bullshit like that. i'm sure their prikorities are saving the $0.01 for the bag, and not the environment. so you're forced to bag it yourself if you want a bag. Also, they hardly wrap up the subs, so half the time everything spills out of the wrapper and into the bag.