PDA

View Full Version : how hard is it to get into graduate school?

Casa
09-29-2008, 07:58 AM
I know this is a pretty general question, but I'm curious about how tough it is to get into graduate school. I'm going to be applying next summer for a graduate school probably for Education. Is it all based on your marks? I mean, does volunteering have to do with anything? Are they looking for 4.0 GPA's? anyone here have any experience applying to Graduate school, especially for education? and lastly, is it benefical to apply to a lot of school's, such as 5-10? thanks everyone.

oh and EDIT: i'm a 3rd year Polisci student going to one of the top undergrad schools in Canada, but undergrad doesn't matter to much right?

suranga
09-29-2008, 08:07 AM
Got a degree from a canadian university? 3.3+ gpa for your last two years and you should be fine. Even if you don't have that, talk to prospective proffs in your field and see if they'll sponsor you.
Ideally, you'd want to go to a different school than where you did your undergrad. Also, reputation and quality of program/school matters for a graduate degree.

rc2002
09-29-2008, 08:36 AM
If you're in a Canadian University it should be easy providing you have all the prereqs. Right now the grad programs are filled with exchange and visa students from other countries.

Penis McNickels
09-29-2008, 09:17 AM
Actually, lots of grad students are new immigrants that can't get a job related to their education because they don't have "Canadian" experience, so a lot of them go take a masters hoping that will be their "in".

And to the OP... why don't you just go to the university websites that you are interested in. They have all these details readily available. I thought those fancy Bachelor of Arts degrees taught you how to do research well, or is all that just a bunch of propaganda pushed out by broke pseudo-intellectuals trying to justify their existence?

Casa
09-29-2008, 09:48 AM
Originally posted by Penis McNickels