PDA

View Full Version : Attn: ALL WEB DESIGNERS

Mr_John
09-16-2003, 08:01 PM
I'm currently studying CNT at sait and do not like it at all. It's not that the course is hard or anything, its just I dont think this is something I'd like to do as my future. Whenever I'm finished my work early or if I'm on a break, I find myself usually doodling around with my Adobe. I enjoy it, so I'm thinking about doing designing instead of CNT. BUT I'm still unsure soo......

I was hoping to get some answers from you designers.
1. Did you go to school to learn adobe, coral, flash, html, java, etc?
If so, where? If not, how did you learn all the stuff?

2. After graduation, how did you manage to find customers OR was it hard to find a job?

3. In 3-4 years, how hard will it be to become successful as a Web Designer?

The way i look at it is.....
I'm only 18 (turning 19 next month) and I'd like to get ahead in life by doing something I like doing. I can always go back to school if this fails out to work. What do you think, am I being stupid? I really want out of CNT. haha

roopi
09-16-2003, 10:35 PM
You will not find it easy to find a job/position at a company as a web designer.

Just learn all the shit yourself and stay with your CNT program. It's nice to have and easier to find work with. You can design on the side and slowly build a nice portfolio over the next 1-2 years.

Then from there just start with contract work until things start rolling.

Davetronz
09-16-2003, 11:14 PM
What semester are you in for CNT?

I am in second.

But I do agree with what Roopi says, stay in the program.

As far as the CNT program goes it offers one of the largest bases for computer employment as you learn electrical, programming, hardware, software, communications, which can be transfered to much in the industry.

Mr_John
09-17-2003, 01:38 AM
how did you all land a job with companies and how long did it take?
Well I would stick to CNT but i hate it. I rather go into marketing or something.